RTA extends deadline for submissions to Hamdan bin Mohammed Award for Innovation in Project Management up to 31st July 2018

Sunday 10 June 2018
Laila Faridoon
Dubai - MENA Herald:

The Board of Trustees of the Hamdan bin Mohammed Award for Innovation in Project Management announced that the deadline for submissions to the 2nd edition of the Award would be extended to 31st of July 2018 instead of 30th of June 2018. The aim is to allow extra time for more participations from individuals and organisations across the nation, region and the world.

“The decision to extend the deadline for receiving submissions for the Award to 31 July instead of 30 June 2018 was aimed to allow more for the largest possible number of submissions. It will also enhance the competitiveness through diverse participations from all over the globe,” said Ms Laila Faridoon, Member of Board of Trustee and Secretary General of the Award cum Executive Director of the Office of the Director-General and Chairman of the Board of Executive Directors of Roads and Transport Authority (RTA) in Dubai.

“The Award aims to unearth, reward, promote and empower innovation in Project Management (PM) through developing an innovative PM methodology, providing a database for the best PM practices and business models, and set up a platform for sharing creative ideas and training on PM skills. The Award targets the international business communities, which comprises two categories, i.e. PM specialists and experts, and individuals/entities concerned with PM, Programmes or Projects Portfolio. The total prize-money of the Award amounts to AED2.6 million (US$710,000),” said Faridoon.

“The Hamdan bin Mohammed Award for Innovation in Project Management is a motivativational tool for innovative leaders, teams and ideas in various organisations. It also provides an effective platform for the best PM practices that contributes to establishing projects innovation system based on methodologies, and individual innovations.

“Winners of the Awards will be announced during the 5th Dubai International Project Manament Forum (DIPMF) in December this year. Winners will be selected on two criterias: Innovation Methodology adopted in the Project, and the impact of this innovation on the deliverables of the Project,” added Faridoon.

Four Categories

The Award encompasses four categories. The first is the Individuals Category, which has a total purse of US$100,000 has two sub-categories. The first one is the Innovative Projects Director (US$50,000), and the other is Director of PMO (US$50,000).

The second category is the Innovative Team category (US$80,000).

The third category is the Innovative Corporate Ideas category (US$450,000) and comprises three sub-categories, namely: The Innovative PM Idea category (US$100,000), the Innovative Idea of Programmes Management (US$150,000), and the Innovative Idea in Project Portfolio Management (US$200,000).

The fourth category is the Academic category, which has been recently introduced. It comprises the Scientific Research of Innovation in PM (US$40,000), and Innovation in PM - Academic Category (US$40,000). The purpose of this category is to engage students, academics and researchers in this field.

Rules and Conditions

“There are several general rules and conditions for the Award that have to be observed by applicants, which include: The project must have been completed more than 48 months before applying for the Award, and all supporting materials and proof documents have to be provided at the time of submission, clearly flagged and referred. In case of additional information is required, it has to be supplied within five working days from the date of the request. All submitted works must have been accomplished by the applicant, and approved by the project sponsor. A documentary proof has to be submitted,” explained Faridoon.

“The general rules and conditions also include that the application has to be in English as it is an international award, and one contact person has to be named as a liaison point in matters related to the application. The applicant can nominate the same project and innovation for more than one category of the Award, should it fulfil the criteria of the respective award.

“The rules state that the Award Team is entitled to use some of the submitted contents to promote and advertise the Award, and may assign the Award to two or more recipients in the same category. The team may also opt to block any award if it feels that nominations made are below par. Each award has a set of additional conditions and standards.

“The Judges Panel includes experts, and judges will be selected to assess each nomination in a way that eliminates the conflict of interests. Members of Judges Panel will be required to apply the highest professional standards and ethical conduct,” said Faridoon in a concluding remark.

Applicants to the Hamdan bin Mohammed Award for Innovation in Project Management may please register through the website (http://www.hbmaipm.com).

Related News